Genesis – Karin Slaughter

Genesis is the 1st crossover book from the Grant Country series and the Will Trent series by Karin Slaughter. This makes it the 1st book in the Georgia series.
Three and a half years ago former Grant County medical examiner Sara Linton moved to Atlanta hoping to leave her tragic past behind her. Now working as a doctor in Atlanta’s Grady Hospital she is starting to piece her life together. But when a severely wounded young woman is brought in to the emergency room, she finds herself drawn back into a world of violence and terror. The woman has been hit by a car but, naked and brutalised, it’s clear that she has been the prey of a twisted mind.
When Special Agent Will Trent of the Criminal Investigation Team returns to the scene of the accident, he stumbles on a torture chamber buried deep beneath the earth. And this hidden house of horror reveals a ghastly truth – Sara’s patient is just the first victim of a sick, sadistic killer. Wrestling the case away from the local police chief, Will and his partner Faith Mitchell find themselves at the centre of a grisly murder hunt. And Sara, Will and Faith – each with their own wounds and their own secrets – are the only thing that stands between a madman and his next crime.
I love a good series and I have been lucky enough to enjoy the Grant County series by Karin Slaughter over the past few years. The 7th book in this series, Genesis, came out recently and I was really hanging out to read it, as the 6th book in this series ended with a BANG! literally. Richard gave me a copy for Christmas and I was really excited!. The main character in this book Sara Linton, (a coroner and pediatrician) is really likable and I couldn’t wait to see what was going to happen next in her story. At first, I was disappointed. This book wasn’t just about Sara. Karin Slaughter had done the unthinkable! She had made this book a cross-over with her other series, the Will Trent series (detective)… how could she do this!!?? I didn’t like the Will Trent series as much as the Grant County series. I love Sara Linton and want to read about HER not about detectives Will Trent and his partner, Faith Mitchell. AARGGG. But once I got into the book I really started to enjoy it and see the point..

Karin Slaughter NEEDED to do this. The 6th Grant County book ended in such a way that there was no way the 7th book could have just focused on Sara. Without wanting to give away too much of the story, Sara experienced an event so tragic and heartbreaking that there is no way Slaughter could have based the whole 7th book around her (or we would have ended up with another book like New Moon by Stephanie Meyer.. but worse… 400 pages of absolute misery). So Slaughter did the only thing she could do. She set Genesis three and a half years after the last book, moved Sara to Atlanta and teamed her up with Will and Faith. And it worked. I really don’t think anyone could be disappointed by this story or its ending. I also have a new found appreciation for Will Trent and Faith Mitchell and am looking forward to reading more in their series too. Sara Linton sure has a long way to go yet and I know we will be seeing her in the future… Will it still be in Atlanta with Will and Faith? I don’t know.. Will she move back to Grant County? I can’t wait to see where her story is heading!

As for the story revolving around the crime in this book, it is as gripping and full of as many twists as what is usual with Karin Slaughter. A job well done.

If you enjoy Kathy Reichs and similar authors, then you will LOVE Karin Slaughter.

Rating 5/5


Post a Comment

All content © And the plot thickens... 2009-2011 or their respective owners as credited.

  © Blogger templates The Professional Template by 2008

Back to TOP